Le fin semaine de Janvier

We’re looking forward to the start of our second month in Nice with newly charged energy, just like my iPad. We got our volunteer work back on track and I also decided to register for a month of French classes. Pour quoi pas? I registered at L’Alliance Francaise, a brisk 20- minute walk from the apartment where I took the placement tests in listening, reading, oral and written expression. After all i’s were dotted and t’s crossed, Madame decided my placement in level A2, which she explained in French. I think she said I could probably fit into the higher level, except my listening comprehension needs a lot of work. My entire family would have agreed with her. Or she may have said something about the weather, or my shoes. You understand my problem.
I met Roy at his “workplace” after registering so we could have lunch at Libération. He had a delicious platter of fried seafood with salad, it was so crispy you could eat the shrimp, shell and all. I had the plat de jour which came with flaky, gooey, apricot tart for dessert. The French takes advantage of every sunny moment- the outdoor seating was packed with smokers and sun-worshippers. The forecast for the next few days is showers. Bummer! Can’t complain, though. I saw Brian Williams’ (NBC) report on Atlanta and Birmingham and how those government officials dropped the ball. What a mess! Our neighbor in Southport sent us a photo of our house covered with snow, which he said was quickly melting. Thanks, Ken- it looks like winter, for sure.

20140130-173029.jpg

20140130-173432.jpg
February promises to be a whirlwind of activities in Côte d’Azur- Nice Carnival from Feb14- March 4 and the Lemon Festival in Menton with arts and crafts, as well as an orchid display. We just hope the weather cooperates!
And to Super Bowl fans- It will be hard to bet against Peyton, I’m just saying. Nous allons voir!

2 thoughts on “Le fin semaine de Janvier

  1. We hope the snow will be gone in March in Southport!! It sounds like the Atlantic coast is getting the weather we’re supposed to be getting in the midwest (although they say it might snow tonight a little). We’re just cold and windy. So glad you’re healthy and back to sightseeing, serving, and learning. It all sounds wonderful! Love you both, Pat

Leave a comment