Quand nous etions malades

Just because one assumes he’s in a state of grace, (which will be a silly assumption to begin with) doesn’t mean he’s physically invulnerable. It’s not about providential justice, it’s all about germs. So here we are, both down with a cold – the hacking, coughing kind, for a whole week. God is surely telling us to slow down some. At least, that’s the message I got. Roy apparently didn’t get the full memo- although he didn’t “work” all week, he was a busy bee at home. Everyday he hunted and gathered, cooked, did the dishes, the laundry, cleaned house, even took over teaching my English student for a couple of hours. I thank God everyday for having Roy who doesn’t always listen. But it did occur to me, what if we both passed out here and nobody missed us? The churches we’re helping don’t know where we’re staying, and they probably think we just got tired and went back home. My Words With Friends opponents wouldn’t call the authorities if I haven’t played for weeks, especially IM2GD who I beat soundly every single time. But here we are finally on the mend, and the Fifth Republic still endures.
So today we ventured out to test if my legs still work. We passed the Place de Justice where the old bouquinistas ply their wares. Roy even saw his old prof from the Institut there earlier, when he went to the boulangerie.

20140125-184630.jpg

20140125-184605.jpg
Then to the market for clementines and and pears. We were feeling almost normal so we stopped for lunch at La Favola and had the plat du jour, a platter of grilled tuna, salmon, seabream, squid, sardines, shrimp and green salad, which sent us over the moon! It’s our favorite meal, and for 13 euros a piece, the best bargain in Nice! My relatives from the Philippines always post photographs of food wherever they go, and I should learn to do that, a prochain fois, peut etre.

2 thoughts on “Quand nous etions malades

  1. So glad you’re feeling better! There’s nothing worse than being sick and not having your own bed to comfort you. I’m glad my big brother stepped up and took care of you! God protect you from germs as you get back out among the people. I hope you have some good vitamins with you!
    Love,
    Pat

  2. Being sick is worse when one is far from home, even in a paradise like Nice. Know I am applauding your efforts in so many directions: getting well, being chipper, loving Roy, continuing our trade, savouring la gastronomie local, serving the poor and of course improving your French. A la prochaine…
    Susan

Leave a comment